Alberta and Saskatchewan 1905–2005: A Centennial Celebration

28 Apr 2005 - 02 Oct 2005

The National Gallery of Canada and the Canadian Museum of Contemporary Photography celebrate Alberta Scene starting on April 28 with Alberta and Saskatchewan 1905-2005: A Centennial Celebration, three installations that mark the occasion of these two provinces’ entry into Confederation. The National Gallery presents Janet Cardiff and George Bures-Miller’s award-winning media work The Paradise Institute in the Contemporary galleries, along with works by First Nations and Métis artists Faye Heavyshield, Bob Boyer, Joane Cardinal-Schubert, Alex Janvier and Jane Ash Poitras. The Canadian galleries will feature paintings, prints and watercolours from the 1930s to the 1960s, including the superb landscapes of Walter J. Phillips and Illingworth Kerr, and William Kurelek’s series The Ukrainian Pioneer. At CMCP, discover the landscapes and towns of these provinces through a variety of photographic styles – from formal, almost abstract, renditions to straight documentary approaches. Subject matter features the beauty and drama of the land, aspects of small town life, and the area's ethnic and Aboriginal heritage. Artists include Sandra Semchuk, Patrick Close, Hubert Hohn, Orest Semchishen, Doug Clark, Richard Holden, Randy Burton, George Webber, Robert Van Schaik, and Douglas Curran.